Skip to main content

Michael R. Bloomberg Announces Bloomberg Family Foundation Board Of Directors

Michael R. Bloomberg today announced the founding Board of Directors of the Bloomberg Family Foundation. The Directors comprise a prominent group of academics, business leaders, philanthropists, artists, and individuals who have distinguished themselves in elected or appointed public office. The Directors will serve in an advisory and oversight capacity. Mayor Bloomberg has asked his longtime advisor and New York City’s First Deputy Mayor Patricia E. Harris to serve as the foundation’s Chief Executive Officer and Chair of the Board. The Board also includes the Mayor’s daughters, Emma and Georgina.

“All of these individuals have served their communities and country in profound and inspiring ways,” said Mayor Bloomberg. “I am thrilled they’ve agreed to lend their knowledge, expertise, and creativity as we set out to make the world a better place. We will be bold and innovative in our approach to philanthropy – and we have an extraordinary group of Directors to strengthen our efforts.”

The 19 individuals who have agreed to serve on the inaugural Board of Directors are Dr. Tenley E. Albright, Emma Bloomberg, Georgina Bloomberg, Mayor Cory A. Booker, former Senator David L. Boren, former Governor Jeb Bush, Kenneth I. Chenault, D. Ronald Daniel, former Mayor Manny Diaz, Fiona Druckenmiller, First Deputy Mayor Patricia E. Harris, Walter Isaacson, Maya Lin, John J. Mack, Reverend Joseph M. McShane, former Senator Sam Nunn, former Secretary Henry “Hank” Paulson, Jr., Sir Martin Sorrell, and Dr. Alfred Sommer.

The Bloomberg Family Foundation is the primary vehicle for Michael R. Bloomberg’s philanthropy. It does not accept unsolicited proposals. Headquartered in New York City, the Foundation focuses on public health, education, the environment, arts, social services, and innovation in government.