Skip to main content

Bloomberg Family Foundation Announces Four New Board Members

Michael R. Bloomberg today announced four additional members to the Bloomberg Family Foundation Board of Directors. These new members add to the already prominent group of academics, business leaders, philanthropists, artists, and individuals who have distinguished themselves in elected or appointed public office.

The four new board members are Secretary Elaine L. Chao, Admiral Michael Mullen, Sam Palmisano, and Anne Tatlock. (Please see attached biographies.) The Directors will serve in an advisory and oversight capacity.

“We are adding individuals who have served their communities and country in profound and inspiring ways,” said Mayor Bloomberg. “I am honored that they’ve agreed to lend their knowledge, expertise, and creativity as we continue our endeavors and look to make the world a better place. This group is bold and innovative and has had a positive impact on our approach to philanthropy and this new group will only strengthen our efforts.”

The 19 individuals who already serve on the Board of Directors are Dr. Tenley E. Albright, Emma Bloomberg, Georgina Bloomberg, Mayor Cory A. Booker, former Senator David L. Boren, former Governor Jeb Bush, Kenneth I. Chenault, D. Ronald Daniel, former Mayor Manny Diaz, Fiona Druckenmiller, First Deputy Mayor Patricia E. Harris, Walter Isaacson, Maya Lin, John J. Mack, Reverend Joseph M. McShane, former Senator Sam Nunn, former Secretary Henry “Hank” Paulson, Jr., Sir Martin Sorrell, and Dr. Alfred Sommer.

The Bloomberg Family Foundation is the primary vehicle for Bloomberg Philanthropies, which refers to all of Michael Bloomberg’s charitable activities, including his personal giving.

About Bloomberg Philanthropies
Bloomberg Philanthropies works primarily to advance five areas globally: the Arts, Education, the Environment, Government Innovation and Public Health. In 2011, $330 million was distributed.