Skip to main content
Dr. Jean Baderschneider bio photo

Dr. Jean Baderschneider

Non-Executive Director
Fortescue Metals Group

Dr. Baderschneider has served as the Non-Executive Director since January 2015.

A highly regarded leader in both business and civil society, Dr. Baderschneider brings 35 years of extensive international experience in procurement, strategic sourcing and supply chain management along with a deep understanding of high- risk operations and locations and complex partnerships.

Dr. Baderschneider retired from ExxonMobil in 2013 where she was Vice-President of Global Procurement. During her 30-year career, she was responsible for operations all over the world, including Africa, South America, the Middle East and Asia.

A past member of the Board of Directors of the Institute for Supply Management and the Executive Board of the National Minority Supplier Development Council, Dr. Baderschneider also served on the boards of The Center of Advanced Purchasing Studies and the Procurement Council of both The Conference Board and the Corporate Executive Board.

Dr. Baderschneider is the President of the Board of Trustees of The President Lincoln's Cottage and a member of the Abraham Lincoln National Council of Ford's Theatre. In addition she is on the Board of Directors of the Nizami Ganjavi International Center and is a Commissioner on the United Nations and Liechtenstein's Financial Sector Commission on Modern Slavery. With over 15 years of experience working on anti-human trafficking efforts globally, she served on the Board of Directors of Polaris, Made in a Free World and Verite and is currently a Founding Board member and Chair of the Global Fund to End Modern Slavery.

Dr. Baderschneider was a Presidential appointee to the US Department of Commerce's National Advisory Council on Minority Business Enterprises and is a past recipient of Cornell's Jerome Alpern Award and Nomi Network's Corporate Social Responsibility Award. She holds a Masters Degree from the University of Michigan and a PhD from Cornell University.

Committee memberships: Audit, Risk Management and Sustainability Committee (Member)